The steering committee

The steering committee

The board committee, our teacher’s team and a handful of dedicated volunteers make up the team behind De Madelief.

The board committee

Chair person: Bart Krepel

My wife is Irish, that why my children are bilingual. It’s great to see how the kids pick up the language from the beginning and switch between Dutch and English without any problems. De Madelief ensures that their Dutch language is of a high level, and so we are giving my children the opportunity to enter the Dutch learning system if desired.

Bart is originally from Nuenen, Bart lived, after his studies in Rotterdam, in France. Since then, he has moved to Ireland and is now acting as General Manager at an International IT company. With his wife and 2 sons, he lives to full satisfaction on Ireland’s coast just outside Dublin.

Treasurer: Richard Maasland

My name is Richard Maasland and since September 2018, I joined the Board and was appointed Treasurer.

In January 2017, I moved to Dublin together with my wife Nicole and our two young children. Nicole has been involved with de Madelief since the fall of 2017, first as a teacher and since 2018, besides teaching, she is also the school coordinator. Both my children go to school each Saturday with much joy and as such you will see me at the school regularly.

I have been a Treasurer before with one of the biggest volleybal clubs in the Netherlands.

I currently work as the Chief Accounting Officer at an aircraft lessor. I was based at Schiphol before we moved our headquarters to Dublin. In a previous job I worked for over 12 years as an auditor at one of the Big Four. I hold a Master and Post-Master degree in Accountancy from Nyenrode Business University and am a Dutch certified public accountant (RA).

Secretary: Bas Strauss

My name is Bas Straus, I am a board member since February 2019 as the Secretary.

In 2010 I moved to Ireland, Shannon. After 2 years I moved to Dublin and met my German Wife. We got married in 2013 and have a beautiful daughter Noa, born 2014. She has been attending de Madelief for quite some time now and she loves to learn Dutch.

I currently work as an account manager for a large American company.

I love traveling and going on holidays with the family. Other interests are cooking, squash, photography and playing chess.